TDS Board and Executive Team

Find out more about the TDS team.

  • Chair and Chief Executive
  • Executive management team
  • Board
  • Chairman of the Board

    Martin Partington, ChairProfessor Martin Partington CBE, QC

    Martin is the Chair of The Dispute Service.

    Click here to read more




    Chief Executive Officer

    Steve Harriott

    Steve Harriott BA (Oxon), PGCE, MSc, FCIH, AssocRics

    Steve is Chief Executive of The Dispute Service.

    Click here to read more.



    Chief Executive Officer

    Steve Harriott

    Steve Harriott BA (Oxon), PGCE, MSc, FCIH

    Steve has been CEO since September 2010, read more here. 



    Deputy Chief Executive (Resources)

    Nick Hankey ACA, ACMANick Hankey 

    Nick is a qualified accountant who joined TDS in September 2011. He has held a number of senior finance director posts in the private sector.

    Director of Dispute Resolution

    Mike MorganMichael Morgan 

    Michael is the Tenancy Deposit Scheme’s Director of Dispute Resolution.  Having trained as a solicitor, Mike has been involved in dispute resolution for over 20 years. His previous roles have included leading the consumer advice service for Hertfordshire Trading Standards; Michael was also the Chief Conciliation Officer for Qualitas, the Furniture Ombudsman, where he took a formative role in its transition to Ombudsman status.

    Mike joined TDS in 2006 as a Deputy Independent Case Examiner. He is now responsible for the overall management of its dispute resolution services and the quality of its adjudication functions. Mike has also led a number of key ‘behind the scenes’ innovations at TDS.

    Director of Dispute Operations

    Alison MacDougall

    Alison MacDougall  

    Alison has been involved in dispute resolution for over 12 years, including senior positions at the Police Complaints Authority and the Office of the Independent Adjudicator for Higher Education. Alison joined TDS in 2007 as an adjudicator and is now responsible for the operational management of the dispute resolution team.

    Director of Customer Services

    John KingJohn King 

    John joined the TDS adjudication team as a Casework Manager following a career in lettings and property management.  In 2012 he joined the Member Relations team as Deputy Director and became Director of Customer Services in July 2017.  He now heads up our customer services directorate comprising member relations, complaints, compliance and our customer operations team.

    Head of Human Resources

    Josanne LeonJosanne Leon

    Josanne has extensive experience within Human Resources predominately within the IT industry as well a number of years working in the Lettings industry. She has been with TDS since 2010 and manages our Human Resources function.


    Director of Business Development

    Rebecca JohnstonRebecca Johnston

    Rebecca was Director of Operations at SafeDeposits Scotland until she joined TDS in November 2015. She has a background in Law and over 15 years' experience in the private rented sector. She is responsible for business development across TDS, acts as Managing Director of TDS Custodial and is the lead for Digital, Marketing and Communications.  



    Independent Martin Partington (Chairman)

    Chief Executive Steve Harriott (Executive director)

    Deputy Chief Executive Nick Hankey (Executive director)

    Nick Hankey is the Deputy Chief Executive and is an executive director.  He is a qualified accountant and has worked at TDS since 2011 in charge of Resources.  He is also the Group MD for Scotland and is a Trustee of SafeDeposits Charitable Trust. He sits as a Director on the Board of TDS Northern Ireland.

    Representative of Propertymark (Mark Hayward)

    Mark Hayward is Chief Executive of NAEA Propertymark and is nominated by them to serve on the TDS Board.  He is also a Trustee of SafeDeposits Charitable Trust and is a Board director at TDS Northern Ireland. 

    Representative of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (Luay Al-Khatib)

    Representative of the Residential Landlords Association (Alan Ward)

    Alan Ward is chair of the Residential Landlords Association and nominated by them to serve on the TDS Board.  He is a landlord and property developer and has a professional background in PR, marketing and IT.  

    Non-Executive Director David Cox

    David Cox is a non-executive Director. He is Chief Executive of ARLA Propertymark, which he joined in January 2014 bringing a sharply focused policy and stakeholder engagement perspective. He has worked alongside experienced industry practitioners to transform ARLA into ARLA Propertymark, which protects consumers through measures such as Client Money Protection. David has held senior policy roles at the National Landlords Association (NLA) and the International Union of Property Owners (UIPI); a trained barrister, David has also acted as Parliamentary Advisor to a well-known backbench MP.

    Independent Jodi Berg

    Jodi Berg is an independent Director. She is an experienced adjudicator and complaints handler and has worked with a number of public bodies and regulators in this role. (such as HM Land Registry and the Solicitors Regulation Authority). She has both private and public Board experience, most recently as Chair of the Administrative Justice Forum. She is a member of the ADR Policy Committee and is the TDS Complaints Reviewer.   

    Independent Mark Allan, Managing Director, Personal Intermediated at RSA

    Mark Allan is an independent Director. He is Managing Director of RSA Insurance's Personal Intermediated Business. He has previously worked in lettings and sales with a national agency. He chairs the Remuneration Committee and is a member of the ADR Policy Committee.

    RSS Feed Latest TDS News

    #NewsStory: TDS ranked 63rd in Sunday Times’ 100 Best Not-For-Profit Organisations To Work For 2019

    The Dispute Service (TDS), which operates the Tenancy Deposit Scheme, has been ranked among the Sunday Times’ 100 best not-for-profit organisations to work for in 2019.

    21st February 2019