Information for Tenants

What is the Tenancy Deposit Scheme?

If you have paid a deposit on an assured shorthold tenancy, by law your landlord or letting agent must protect it with a government authorised scheme, such as TDS.

When tenancies come to an end there are sometimes disagreements over who receives the deposit. If the deposit is protected by TDS, the dispute can be referred to us and an impartial adjudicator will decide how much should be awarded to each party based on the evidence sent to us.  

Is your deposit protected with the Tenancy Deposit Scheme? Click here to find out

Is your deposit protected with another scheme? Use Shelter's Deposit Checker to find out

Do you wish to dispute deductions from your deposit? Click here to find out how

Need further guidance? Click here for more information

How does the Tenancy Deposit Scheme work?


You pay your deposit to your letting agent or landlord.

They register your deposit with TDS within 30 days and give you 'prescribed information' - documents showing where your deposit is protected and a leaflet about the Tenancy Deposit Scheme.

Your agent or landlord holds your deposit during the tenancy.

Your agent or landlord repays the agreed amount of the deposit direct to you at the end of the tenancy.

If you can't agree on the amount of the deposit to be repaid you can raise a tenancy deposit dispute with the Tenancy Deposit Scheme. We provide free, impartial adjudication to decide how your deposit is divided.


You can find more information about tenancy deposit protection and tenancy deposit disputes in this leaflet, A Guide to Tenancy Deposits, Disputes and Damages.

RSS Feed Latest TDS News

TDS £340million Ahead In Tenancy Deposit Protection

Reporting on its first year operating across the entire United Kingdom, The Dispute Service has published new figures confirming it as the leading force in tenancy deposit protection.

14th October 2014

MasterCard Credit Debit MasterCard Maestro JCB
Visa Credit Visa Debit Visa Electron
Powered by WorldPay
WelshSpanishUrduHindiChinese (Traditional)Chinese (Simplified)ArabicPolishRussian
Other languages: